Shropshire Council

Accredited training

All our accredited courses are on the Skills for Care Qualification Credit Framework and are City and Guilds or ProQual certificated.

The City and Guilds assessment and accreditation are provided through County Training.

Each course includes a registration session, training days (number dependant on the course) and mentoring sessions to enable you to achieve your award/certificate. These are aimed at all health and social care workers.

End-of-life care qualifications

Working in partnership with Severn Hospice, we offer a package of end-of-life care awards and certificates.

We cover a range of topics throughout the courses, including communication, advanced care planning and understanding loss and grief. The level 5 certificate is specifically aimed at service managers and leaders.

  • Level 2 award in awareness in end-of-life care (unit EOL 201, credits 3)
  • Level 3 award in awareness in end-of-life care  (units EOL 201, 301 & 306, credits 10)
  • Level 5 certificate in leading and managing services to support end-of-life care and significant life events (units EOL 303, 306, 501 & 502, credits 17)

Dementia qualifications

The dementia award covers a range of topics, including understanding dementia, person-centred approaches to supporting people and communication.

  • Level 2 award in awareness of dementia (units DEM 201, 202, 205 & 207, credits 8)

We also offer an accredited CPD unit for learners who have completed an end-of-life or dementia qualification that looks at the specific challenges of recognising and supporting people who have dementia and are at 'end of life'.

  • End-of-life and dementia care (unit EOL 308, credits 2)

Stroke qualifications

This award covers different types of stroke, recognising stroke as an emergency, different signs and symptoms and the effect on the person. This award is delivered in partnership with the lead nurse for care homes in Shropshire.

  • Level 2 award in stroke awareness (unit SCM 201, credits 3)

MAPA® qualifications

We also offer award options for our dementia capable care: behaviours and MAPA® foundation course:

  • Level 4 award in managing risk behaviour whilst supporting individuals with age-related cognitive decline
  • Level 4 award in managing aggressive and challenging behaviour in the workplace

Learning disabilities qualifications

The level 2 award covers a range of learning and insight into: 

  • Historical factors
  • Advocacy
  • Specific person centred practices
  • Taking positive risks

It's delivered in knowledge sessions which are supported by practical evidence in the work place.

Learners can choose to increase their learning after completion of the award by following on with the level 2 certificate. This covers:

  • Healthcare
  • Autism
  • Physical disability
  • Communication

This is delivered in knowledge sessions.

  • Learning disabilities award level 2 (units LD 201, 202, 205 & 206, credits 12)
  • Learning disabilities certificate level 2 (units LD 215, 216, 217 & 218  credits 10)