Shropshire Council

The John Beswick International Awards Evening

Forthcoming event

The next John Beswick International Awards Evening will take place on Tuesday, 26 February 2019 at The Shirehall, Shrewsbury at 7:30pm.


The aim of this annual awards ceremony is to recognise talented young people who have represented their country at sport over the preceding year, and who attend an affiliated school or college in Shropshire. The evening also pays tribute to the most successful Shropshire secondary school team, primary school sport and long service representation.


The John Beswick Team Award is in memory of John Beswick, a former lecturer at Loughborough Physical Education College and then Shropshire PE adviser between 1952-1976. John was also a founder member of the SSSAA in 1953, was elected chairman of English Schools' Athletic Association for 1966, and awarded an MBE for services to Shropshire sport.

The Derek Hayward Award for Primary School Sport is dedicated to Derek Hayward, former head of PE at Ilford County High School in Essex. He became Shropshire PE adviser between 1970-1988, and then chief recreational services officer between 1988-1994. He was elected as chairman of the English Schools' Athletic Association in 1996, and is now vice-president of SSSAA, and was awarded an MBE for services to sport in 2015.

The long service award recognises the commitment, dedication and support given by staff to the development of sport in Shropshire schools over many years.

New Awards

This year, we have two new awards which recognise the achievements of both primary and secondary schools.  These awards are not a recognition of national achievement but something your school has done within physical education where progress has been made in terms of involvement by teams or individual successes.

How to Nominate

Please complete the attached nomination forms and return them to Leisure Services by Friday, 1st February 2019.