Shropshire Council website

This is the website of Shropshire Council

Contact information



0345 678 9000

Postal Address

Shropshire Council
Abbey Foregate

Meeting documents

Shrewsbury Wide Local Joint Committee
Thursday, 10th November, 2011

Meeting agenda for Shrewsbury Wide Local Joint Committee

Thursday 10th November 2011 at 07:00 PM in the Council Chamber, The Guildhall, Frankwell Quay, Shrewsbury SY3 8HQ

Committee Members:

  • Mr Alan Mosley
  • Mr Alan Townsend (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mr Andrew Bannerman
  • Mr Andrew Wagner (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mrs Anne Chebsey
  • Mrs Beverley Baker
  • Mr David Farmer (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mr Dean Carroll (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mr Ioan Jones (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mrs Jackie Brennand (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mrs Jo Jones
  • Mrs Karen Burgoyne
  • Mrs Kath Owen (Shrewsbury Town Councillor)
  • Mr Keith Roberts
  • Mrs Liz Parsons
  • Mr Malcolm Price
  • Mr Mansel Williams
  • Mr Mike Owen
  • Mr Miles Kenny
  • Mr Peter Adams
  • Mr Peter Nutting
  • Mr Ted Clarke
  • Mr Tony Durnell
  • Mr Vernon Bushell

Items under discussion:

1. Chairman's Introduction and Welcome

2. Apologies for Absence

3. Declarations of Interest
The guidance note on declaring personal and prejudicial interests will be available at the meeting.

4. Notes of the Previous Meeting
To confirm the notes of the previous meeting held on 28th April 2011.
Report of Committee Officer is attached marked 4. (11-04-28 - Notes.pdf)
Contact Ken James (01743 252899)

5. Public Question Time
To receive public questions and comments from the floor and suggestions from the public for future agenda items.

6. Funding Applications
To consider, for formal approval, applications for funding. Report of the Community Action Manager is attached marked 6. Contact Gill Jones on 01743 252344.
(6 Applications for Funding.pdf, 6 Applications for Funding - Appendix B.pdf)

7. Amendment to Local Joint Committee Constitution - Scheme of Delegation
The Council at its meeting on the 25th June 2011 agreed to amend the Constitution for Local Joint Committees to give delegated authority, with immediate effect, to the Community Action Officers, in consultation with the Local Joint Committee Chairman (or Vice-Chairman in their absence), to determine urgent and time sensitive matters. This Local Joint Committee must decide whether it wishes such a role to be exercised and if so whether it wishes to place any local restrictions on the powers of delegation. The report to Council is attached marked 7. Contact Gill Jones on 01743 252344.
(7 Amendment to LJC Constitution.pdf)

8. West Midlands Ambulance Service
Mr Barry McKinnon, Area Manager, Shropshire, will address the meeting on changes affecting the Ambulance Service in the Shrewsbury area.

9. Future Configuration of Hospital Services
To receive a presentation from Mr Adam Cairns, Chief Executive of the Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust, on progress with the future reconfiguration of hospital services within the Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust. Please note this item will not be taken before 8.00p.m.

10. Feedback on the Meeting
Feedback forms for completion on the night will be circulated at the meeting.

11. Dates for Meetings in 2012/13
To note that arrangements will be made for meetings of this Committee in the next Council year to be held in May and November 2012.

Committee Officer is Ken James
Tel: 01743 252899    Fax:

There are no decision documents present arising from this committee meeting.


Attached items/documents:


Print this page

Back to top