Shropshire Council

Entries now open for Shropshire architecture and building conservation awards

01 September 2018 Last updated at 12:28

Applications are now being invited for the second annual Shropshire Council Conservation and Design Awards. Launched last year, the awards are intended to acknowledge and celebrate the best architecture, urban design, planning, building conservation and landscape architecture in Shropshire.

Entries are invited for projects within the Shropshire Council planning authority area completed after 2015 and before the end of September 2018.

The closing date is 15th October 2018, with judging to take place in November and December, ahead of a presentation event on 18 January 2019. Site visits will take place to those schemes which are nominated within each category.

Details of the scheme name and address, planning reference and architect or agent’s contact details, with a comprehensive series of images and plans showing the site pre and post development should initially be submitted via email to and be accompanied by a statement addressing the judging criteria of sustainability, design quality, ability to delight, craftsmanship and response to context.

The redeveloped visitor facilities at Attingham Park, near Shrewsbury
The redeveloped visitor facilities at Attingham Park, near Shrewsbury – one of last year’s award winners. Photo: National Trust

The seven award categories are:

  • Restoration or repair of a Listed Building – for projects achieving the highest standards of historic research, conservation and craftsmanship
  • New design in the historic environment – for projects introducing contemporary design and materials in a conservation area, preserving and enhancing a non-designated heritage asset or within the setting of a designated asset
  • Natural environment – for projects focused on enhancing the natural environment, including arboricultural protection and planting, the character of the wider landscape and the quality of setting.
  • Commercial scale developments – for projects which have a community or business end use.
  • Accredited housing scheme – for multiple unit housing projects achieving the highest standards for lifetime homes, and eco and passive building design.
  • Concept or masterplan – for projects pushing the boundaries of design in the county, but which have not yet been implemented.
  • Domestic extension

An award, commendation or merit will be given depending on the degree to which the judges feel a project meets the criteria above. In addition, the People’s Choice award will be given to one or more of the schemes entered, which will be assessed separately, in collaboration with our partners.

Robert Macey, Shrpshire Council’s Cabinet member for planning, said:

“Shropshire Council is delighted to announce its second Conservation and Design Awards competition. We see Shropshire’s natural and historic environment as one of its greatest economic assets and also the thing that makes it such a great place to live, work and invest. These awards are intended to showcase the highest standards of design and environmental sustainability and celebrate the best in the county’s planning, design, development and construction sectors.

“We want to raise the bar in Shropshire in these areas and create a culture that promotes continuous improvement and excellence. We greatly look forward to receiving nominations in each of our award categories.”

This year there are seven categories (rather than six), to cater for projects which were felt not to fit within any category last year.

Further information

Eligibility: The awards are open to developments within the Shropshire Council boundary, which have been completed since 2015. Schemes previously submitted cannot be re-entered but all of those eligible in 2017 will automatically be entered into the People’s Choice award.

Judging Criteria and how to apply: The following criteria will be used by the judging panel when assessing schemes:

  • Quality of design
  • Context
  • Materials and workmanship
  • Sustainability
  • Ability to delight

The following information should be submitted via email to

  • Scheme name and address
  • Applicant contact details (name/address/telephone/email)
  • Architect and agent if different to above (name/address/telephone/email)

Please also provide a CD or memory stick which includes all of the following:

  • One set of drawings including plans and elevations in PDF format.
  • A comprehensive series of high-quality high resolution images (1-5 MB each) to illustrate the scheme in JPEG format.
  • A statement of no more than one side of A4 in pt 12 in Word and PDF format describing how the scheme achieves the required standard against each of the criteria.

Please note: Information (excluding personal names/details etc.) contained in the application will be used in publicity material for the awards and may be on public display before or after the event. Confirmation must be given that you have the owner’s permission to enter the awards.

Important dates: Entries should be received in full before the closing date of 15th October 2018. The awards ceremony will be held on Friday 18 January 2019 at Shirehall in Shrewsbury.

Last year’s winners: The schemes receiving recognition in last year’s awards in the form of an award, commendation or special mention were:

  • Shrewsbury High School dining rooms and kitchen, by Baart Harries Newall architects
  • The Angel, Broad Street Ludlow, by James Wareham and Batch Valley Design
  • Greenspace, Whixall eco village conceptual masterplan, by Greenspace architects
  • Radbrook Village, by AHR architects
  • Attingham Park redeveloped visitor facilities, by BHB
  • Shrewsbury Cathedral access works, by Arrol and Snell Architects
  • The Buttercross, Ludlow, by P Belchere architect
  • Old Cottage, Burley, by Trevor Hewitt Architects
  • Myndtown Church, by Arrol and Snell Architects
  • Chatri Design Centre, Shrewsbury School, by Baart Harries Newall architects
  • Fort Pendlestone, Bridgnorth, by BASE architects
  • Leafy Nook, Oswestry, by K-E design