Shropshire Council

Index of Multiple Deprivation (IMD)

The English Indices of Deprivation 2015 (also known as the Index of Multiple Deprivation, or IMD) is a nationally recognised measure of deprivation at 'lower super output area' (LSOA) level. LSOAs are defined by the Office for National Statistics as containing between 1,000 and 3,000 people, and between 400 to 1,200 households. 

As well as the overall IMD 2015, there are several indicators of deprivation that are measured through seven broad domains:

The IMD can be further analysed with sub-domains and supplementary indices.

The overall IMD 2015 combines all seven broad domains, according to the technical report published by the Department for Communities and Local Government. Each domain has been weighted, and this should be kept in mind when interpreting data for Shropshire (for example, the income deprivation domain contributes more to the overall IMD than the living environment deprivation domain):

  • Income = 22.5%
  • Employment = 22.5%
  • Health deprivation and disability = 13.5%
  • Education, skills and training = 13.5%
  • Crime = 9.3%
  • Barriers to housing and services = 9.3%
  • Living environment = 9.3%

For each domain, all of the 32,844 LSOAs in England have been given a national ranking (with 1 being the most deprived LSOA). Based on these rankings, the LSOAs have been divided into deciles (with decile 1 containing the 10% most deprived LSOAs in England).

An interactive map has been created that displays the latest IMD 2015 data (overall/domains/sub-domains/supplementary indices) for Shropshire’s LSOAs.  An additional set of tables have been prepared summarising IMD 2015 information for the 30 most deprived LSOAs in Shropshire (overall/domains/sub-domains/supplementary indices). 

Please note that when using the maps:

  • IMD 2015 information is presented in deciles (1 to 10, where 1 = 10% most deprived).
  • The IMD 2015 uses the LSOA boundaries from the most recent 2011 census

The IMD 2015 updates the information from IMD 2010. While for the most part IMD 2015 has kept the same methodology and domains as in IMD 2010, there have been some changes which are explained in The English Indices of Deprivation 2015 Technical Report (Smith et al., 2015, p. 70).

IMD 2015 key facts for Shropshire

  • There are 193 lower super output areas (LSOAs) in Shropshire
  • In terms of average rank, Shropshire ranks 107th out of 152 upper-tier local authorities in England (a rank of 1 being considered the most deprived upper-tier local authority)
  • All nine Shropshire LSOAs that fall within the 20% most deprived in England are located within urban areas of the county
  • One LSOA falls within the 10% most deprived in England, located in the Harlescott electoral division in Shrewsbury
  • The five overall highest ranked areas in Shropshire are located within the electoral divisions of Harlescott (Shrewsbury), Monkmoor (Shrewsbury), Ludlow East (Ludlow), Oswestry South (Oswestry) and Meole/Bayston Hill, Column and Sutton (the LSOA crosses two electoral divisions in the wider Shrewsbury area)
  • The council area with the most LSOAs ranked overall within the top 20% most deprived in England is the central area (five LSOAs)

Department for Communities and Local Government, © Crown Copyright 2016.

Previous IMD information

In collaboration with our public health colleagues, we produced summary reports for the IMD in 2004, 2007 and 2010:

Information sheets from previous releases of the IMD for individual domains (2004-2010):

Information sheets for the supplementary income deprivation indices:


GOV.UK. (2015). Official statistics: English indices of deprivation 2015. (Accessed: 14 April 2016).

Office for National Statistics. (no date). Census geography. (Accessed: 15 April 2016).  

Smith, T., Noble, M., Noble, S., Wright, G., McLennan, D. and Plunkett, E. (2015). The English indices of deprivation 2015: Technical report.GOV.UK [Online].